Shigeto Furukawa, Ph.D.

NTT Communication Science Laboratories /
» Human Information Science Laboratory Executive Manager
» Sensory Resonance Research Group Group Leader
e-mail: furukawa.shigeto[at]
3-1, Morinosato-Wakamiya, Atsugi-shi, 243-01 JAPAN

More Info

Research Field: Auditory psychophysics and neurophysiology

Mechanisms for analyzing auditory scenes

  • Attention and saliency
  • Shitsukan of sound / acoustic environment
  • Space perception

Measurement and evaluation of physiological functions

  • Electroencephalography (EEG) : From brainstem to cortex
  • “Eye metrics”: pupillometry and microsaccades
  • Oto-acoustic emission

Mechanisms and evaluation of hard-of-hearing problem

  • “Hidden” hearing loss
  • Noise-induced hearing loss
  • Effect of age
  • Autism, hyperacusis


  1. Papers on integration of interaural level and time difference cues in the cortex (Altmann et al.) have been accepted for Frontiers in Neuroscience and NeuroImage (Jul. 2017).
  2. Paper on auditory stream segregation in spectral and amplitude-modulation domains (Yamagishi et al.) has been accepted for Hearing Research (Mar. 2017).
  3. Co-organized special session"Perspectives of Research in Overlooked Hearing Problems" at the 5th ASA-ASJ Joint Meeting (Honolulu, USA) (Nov. 2016).
  4. Paper on distraction of auditory change detection performance (Petsas et al.) has been accepted for Hearing Research (Aug. 2016).
  5. Paper on the relationship between cochlear mechanics and perceptual sensitivity to fine-temporal information (Otsuka et al.) has been accepted for Journal of the Association for Research in Otolaryngology (Aug. 2016).
  6. Paper on brainstem correlates of auditory stream segregation (Yamagishi et al.) has been accepted for Hearing Research (Jun. 2017).
  7. Paper on pupil dilation response to auditory oddballs (Liao et al.) has been accepted for Hearing Research (Feb. 2017).
  8. Paper on the role of olivo-cochlear relex on ear protection from loud sound (Otsuka et al.) has been accepted for PLoS ONE (Jan. 2017).